Day 1: Language Barriers

31/10/13

Let’s count Day 1 as the first day I awake in this country. Talk about being thrown into the deep end, my mother (aka unpaid translator) left me alone with my grandmother for the entire day. Gran and I went to the market. This is me who really can’t speak much Twi and all these other women, who don’t (out of chance or choice) speak English.

Nevertheless, I mastered one very key sentence “Grandma, if you like it, it’s ok.” My answer to every question she asked. I really don’t have the language fluency to be fussy about what I buy and eat.

Today’s Fran’s birthday too. Sorry I abandoned you sis, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Leave a Reply

