Day 115: The family in Kwahu

I’m just a bit in love with Kwahu. To be honest… I’m just a bit in love with most parts of the Eastern Region. There’s something about being out of the capital city of Accra that just makes everything so much better and I’m sure that is a sentiment that can be shared by anyone who has ventured out to Cape Coast, Axim, Kumasi, and beyond.

Kwahu (sometimes spelt “Kwawu” pronounced like quo) is, I guess, a collection of mountains overshadowing Nkawkaw (say it as you see it people!) The Kwahu people are notorious for doing business. You’ll recall the Makola women mocking me on Day 7.

Something else I came to realise about Kwahus is that we’re really healthy maybe too healthy (those not exposed to the McDs diet of the Western world that is!). They live long. I went to a few funerals today and the average age was over 75 years old, well above the national life expectancy in Ghana (64) and to add to that people were lamenting that the deceased had died early! My grandmother is going to be 91, and even she has older relatives who can remember the day they heard Yaa Asantewaa was starting a war with the British!

This lady was already married when Yaa Asantewaa started her campaign against the British
This lady was already married when Yaa Asantewaa started her campaign against the British

Then there’s my grandmother’s older brother, my Nana Barima (which literally translates as ‘grandfather’). He’s 94 going on 95 and has lived a life worthy of the LADBible Hall of Fame.

My Nana Barima is 94
My Nana Barima is 94

There were really a lot and I mean A LOT of old relatives that I met, many of them around my gran’s age if not older. Apparently, the old people rave it up during the week when only they rule the roost and on the weekend, then return to their frailer selves as their younger relatives come to visit. I’m thinking something that the advert on British TV where the granny was joyride on her mobility scooter! (remind me which brand that was please)

Like I said in my post on Day 45 funerals are a must here, which is why I’m dressed in black in these photos. I don’t actually know the people who I was going to mourn and my grandma used too many Twi words for me to be convinced that they’re direct relatives, but they’re part of the clan and that’s what matters so I was there and I greeted everyone my grandmother would introduce me to and everyone is my “mother” or my “grandfather” or “uncle” or weirdly enough your niece when they look old enough to be your mother’s aunt!

Uncle Pasasa after I told him he's a very short guy. His response "wu yɛ kwasia pa!" hahahha
Uncle Pasasa after I told him he’s a very short guy. His response “wu yɛ kwasia pa!” hahahha
Me and my bezzie leading the pack!
Me and my bezzie leading the pack!

So now that’s my mum’s maternal family ticked off, 2 days, 6 funerals, many a relative!

Leave a Reply

