Day 116: The Beautiful Kwahu

Yesterday before I set off to  Kwahu I told my facebook community that I was heading to arguably the most beautiful mountains in Ghana. I think that’s a fair assertion since so many flock to Kwahu as a sort of pilgrimage every Easter. This is not for any real religious reason but just the fact that the whole of Ghana loves Kwahu so much. It’s common knowledge that Kwahu people love going back there too, no matter how far they live and I myself make it a point to go every time I’m in Ghana.

If you ever get a chance to come to Ghana around Easter, Kwahu is the only place to be and paragliding is a must.

I spent most of my time being teased in Twi and even more teased for enquiring about what was first being said, so I didn’t get much time to stand and take photos. These are just a few of what I did manage to capture though.

the view from my back balcony
the view from my back balcony
a stroll through Pepease
a stroll through Pepease
Make no mistake
Make no mistake
The entrance to a school in Pepease
The entrance to a school in Pepease

What is really appealing about Kwahu and Nkawkaw in the valley, is that the colonial buildings still stand they look beautiful and they inspire the designs of the newer buildings. If you’ve been around Ministries in Accra you’ll see that those old colonial buildings are being pulled down. An over-reliance on concrete and iron burglar proof bars characterise new builds. You’re more likely to find clay buildings, wooden shutters – and frankly more endearing character – when you leave the capital.

SONY DSCSONY DSC

The house also uses the same cladding as the affluent Villagio Vista (Day 45: Santoku)
The house also uses the same cladding as the affluent Villagio Vista (Day 45: Santoku)

I think it’s safe to say Kwahu people embrace the “wealthy” stereotype. The entrance of the house has engraved into the wall sika wo fie (pronounced see-kah woh fee-yay) meaning there’s money in the house. I don’t if the owner considered the security implications of his declaration…

the church bell that can be heard throughout Obommeng and weirdly enough is more soothing that disturbing
the church bell that can be heard throughout Obommeng and weirdly enough is more soothing that disturbing
what's not not to love about Kwahu
what’s not not to love about Kwahu
Leave a Reply

