Day 144: Kesewa the Elder

Meet my grandmother’s little sister. I’m named after her and from all the debates I’ve had with my grandmother it turns out it’s not just a name I share with her, but also my sense of right and wrong (which doesn’t always read never matches with my grandmother’s). In  many African cultures it is believed that you inherit the character of the person you are named after, so my grandmother often shrugs off my outrageous opinions with “it’s not your fault, you are Kesewa, that is why”. I often think that the first Kesewa in our long line of Kesewas must have been a real trouble maker!

I actually don’t know what ‘Kesewa’ means, if anyone does please let me know.

 

Kesewa the Elder and me.
Leave a Reply

