#LoveDoes Thank you

I’m taking part in a challenge for the soul called Love Does. It is a challenge to live how Jesus does by loving ourselves and those around us as Jesus loves the world. This challenge comes 5 days before the #40acts challenge for Lent and so I’m hoping to document my journey through both here on the blog. Mainly because in my time in Ghana I have seldom come across similar projects born out of the Christian body in this country. Religion and Christianity is something to be both revered and ridiculed due to its conservatism and hypocrisy respectively.

The Love Does Challenge inspires us to…

Leave fear behind and go live a really, really full life – one that is chocked full of adventures!
Love people the way Jesus did by finding the courage to take leaps, not steps!
Live to become the person that Jesus made you to be – by loving others, and by “doing stuff”!

What Jesus said we could do is leave typical behind. Jesus told the people He was with that it’s not enough to just look like you love God. He said we’d know the extent of our love for God by how well we loved people. – @BobGoff #LoveDoes

First Challenge: Thanking People

Is there a person who has been there with you when the going got rough? Or a person who poured out his or her life to mentor or counsel you? Or someone who talked you out of making a bad choice or talked you into making a good one?

I would like to thank the people who have been there for me in starting my new life in Ghana.
Colleagues who have guided me through the Ghanaian way of working.
The boss who opened an amazing door in my life which took me to Switzerland.
The church friends who constantly keep me in their prayers and always call to ask why I missed church (I was with God in my grandmother’s church).
The family who I am only just discovering but who have integrated me like they’ve known me my whole life.
The colleagues who listened to me when my private and professional life overlapped and things started looking shaky.
The friends back in the UK who trust that Bello is not wasting her time and show me the support, pick me up from the ground and give me tough love when it’s needed.

Thank you for being there for me.

Leave a Reply

