#LoveDoes Fail on Purpose

So day two of the #LoveDoes challenge…

Bob Goff shares in the email a quote: “I used to be afraid of failing at something that really mattered.. now I’m more afraid of succeeding at things that don’t matter”

That’s me right now.. or at least I’m somewhere in the middle. I work at a company that runs some great brands and sometimes I wake up in the morning worried that I am failing at this job that if I was aceing I would really love.. but then my second thought is, but Charlene if you were aceing it, is this really the job you want to be doing.

I have a great friend. He asks me regularly about my job and he’s made it clear that he doesn’t think it’s for me and that I should return to the path he found me on when I first arrived in Ghana. That’s love. There’s this awesome article about how friendship is an even greater love than romantic love and my experiences in 2014 have made me agree. Failures can be opportunities for so many other things. Failure in one relationship can highlight the opportunity to build stronger ones elsewhere with other people.

Today’s challenge suggested that I should think of an activity that I’m not very good at, say a prayer and do it. Let God show you His love by strengthening you.

One of the deep, inner dynamics of experiencing the love of God is recognizing when you are in a place of failure and receiving love right then and there. This is hard to do. When we fail, we want to judge (ourselves or others), get angry, or make excuses to protect our hearts. We end up only doing things we already know we’ll be good at so we don’t have to experience struggle.

I couldn’t think of something… well I could but I couldn’t find a guitar quick enough to start today. I have little running challenge with a friend to learn to play the guitar well before he does. He’s had a 2 month headstart but I’m confident in my abilities 😛

One thing I have learnt from one of my biggest failures of last year, is that it doesn’t always hurt as much or as long as you think it would. The embarrassment really only lasts for as long as you are willing to be embarrassed by it. At the end of the day, all you did was try.. all you did was put yourself out their to experience life in a new way. You can’t be faulted for that, and God won’t fault you for that.

Leave a Reply

