Leaving a job in Ghana

It’s slightly strange that I would write a post on leaving a job in Ghana when I barely wrote anything on having a job in Ghana and that was my mistake. I will probably write a few new posts reflecting on my lessons from having worked for a multinational company here in Ghana. There are a lot of things I have learned never to do again, but that is not for here, today.

In the formal sector in Ghana, you would traditionally find that people try to hold down one job for a very long period of time. This is counter to the typical Western millennial behaviour of switching when the satisfaction has dissipated. So you can imagine that although I had been unhappy in my job for over 4 months, I was told by many to stay, as the feeling would pass or I should use it to look for another job but not leave until I had secured something, which frankly was quite difficult given the amount of time I was dedicating to the job, the time it took me to get home and how tired I felt, because of the two previous reasons combined with being anaemic.

Either way my probation time came up last Tuesday. I hadn’t felt any more enthusiastic about the role than I had some time in mid-November when I first voiced my desire to leave to my then Project Manager. With exception of a few potentially large deals, that I wanted to close simply because I had nurtured them from the beginning, I was not looking forward to coming in each day and playing the charades of a team. My team has lost 4 people in as many weeks.

So to avoid having to give 2-months notice instead of one I spoke to HR about extending my probation, two days later I put in my 30 days notice because I knew that at the end of the day, even if there was a massive turnaround in the team dynamic in April (owed to the departure of a few colleagues) I could not see myself being in that job for a further 3 months. I have made the mistake of prolonging a relationship knowing full-well that it had no future, but when it came to an end it seemed to hurt me more, simply because I looked at all the time I had invested in something/someone to make it/him what it was not. (I leave him in a job I helped him get, just as I leave the company with a number of potentially lucrative accounts and sometimes it’s best knowing that you have a temporary purpose).

Lucky for me my company let me leave as soon as I was ready. It wasn’t the perfect goodbye, I forgot to take a number of selfies, and now I’m gonna have to make do with my pre-London selfies for the memories. My colleagues took me out for some after-work goodbye drinks at Bedouin and Hollywood Boulevard in East Legon. I really like the people I have been able to meet through working at Ringier Ghana. Had I never worked for anyone in my life, I perhaps would not have met them so I don’t regret taking this job, in that respect. I will try my best to maintain a good relationship with them especially for as long as I remain in Ghana.

I haven’t told my grandmother because I feel she would worry and whilst I can live off the family, I probably shouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

